Ballston-Virginia Square Civic Association Agenda for Wednesday, April 30, 1997 MEMBERSHIP MEETING

At 7:30 p.m., at the 2nd Floor Conference Rooms, of the Hilton Hotel, above the Ballston Metro Station. Parking Available on the Premises.

Check the Member Information Line (703) 528-1887, menu option 2, for Last Minute Updates or Changes.

  1. Member Comment Period. (Expected to be deferred to end of the meeting).
  2. Report of the Treasurer (Treasurer Ellis). (Expected to be deferred.).
  3. Report of the Secretary, if any (Secretary Ryan). (Expected to be deferred.).
  4. Reports of the Committees, if any: A. Site Plan Review Committee (Chairman Samaraweera) (if time permits.). B. Neighborhood Conservation Advisory Committee (NCAC Representative, Iacomini) (if time permits.).
  5. Unfinished business, if any:
  6. New Business, if any: Candidates Night Debates for the Arlington County Board

A. Presentation by invited representatives from the site plan applicant, Ballston Common Associates, L.P., on the proposed significant redesign of a portion of the approved Ballston Common Mall, to accommodate three floors of restaurants and cinemas, and eleven stories of office space, to be followed by questions and answers. (7:00 to 7:30 p.m.).

B. Presentation by Terry Russell, Planning Commission Coordinator for Arlington County, on the County's proposed zoning amendment for "COA," to be followed by questions and answers. (7:30 to 8:00 p.m.).

C. Presentation by Howard Hudgins, Acting Chief, Division of Parks and Facilities, and staff, on the County's proposal to remove and not replace the play ground equipment at North 13th and Vermont Street. The Association plans to adopt a resolution and to vote on this matter. (8:00 to 8:30 p.m.) Action Item.

D. Independent Candidates for the May 31, 1997, Republican Canvas for the Arlington County Board, Session 1, Amy Jones-Baskaran (I) and Ben Winslow (I). (8:30 to 9:15 p.m.).

E. Democratic Candidates for the June 10, 1997, Democratic Primary for the Arlington County Board, Session 2, Barbara Favola (D) and Jay Fisette (D). (9:15 to 10:00 p.m.).

F. Election of a three member Nominating Committee to Report a Slate of Candidates for Election at our May Annual Meeting (10:00 to 10:15 p.m.) (Action Item).

Adjournment (no later than 10:30 p.m.).

The April/May 1997 Newsletter-Index

The BVSCA Home Page